An oyster’s life story

Hello,

my name is Fine de Claire. I was born in the estuary of the Seudre on the Atlantic coast. I never knew my parents. My friends explained, that they don’t know their parents either. Now I know why: my mother ejected millions of eggs in the water, my father millions of sperms; one egg and one sperm found together and I’m the result of that meeting. I understand that my parents couldn’t manage raising so many children. After a few months my foster-father found me in the cold water and decided to pick me up.

my-stepfather.jpg

He put me in a net with others of my size and he laid us down on benches in the sea. Every time the tide was going out I was out of water during a few hours. Then the water came back and I filtered the fresh water in my gills so that I could catch plankton. In one hour I was able to filter up to 5 liters. At my first birthday I developed the ability to produce sperms on my own. In May, June, Jule and August, when the temperature of the water had risen I ejected my sperms in the hope they would conquer the eggs of the nice looking female next to me. In my second year on the bench I experienced a weird transformation. I became a female and my darling became a male. This change of sexes was possible because we are Hermaphrodites and we adept to the circumstances of our environment. That means, if we could capture sufficiently plankton so we have the energy to produce eggs we become women. Otherwise we are forced to be man. In my third year my foster-father came back to collect me and my friends. He said, that we had grown enough(8-14 cm long) and that we would receive a purification in another location. I asked myself why, because we felt very well in the brackish water and I still wanted to father many descendants with my partner(s) during the next 20 or 30  summers, that we were still supposed to live. Against our will, we were placed into basins that had been dug out artificially and that were filled constantly with a mixture of  sea and freshwater. There I became green because of a special alga that was in the water. After a few weeks we were taken out of the nets and put into different boxes according to our size. During the next days everything went very fast. We were washed and brushed, put into baskets, made a journey in a truck, and arrived at the market of La Rochelle. I became thirsty because I was out of water since 2 days. Finally 3  young boys came and chose me and 11 friends of mine. We were put  into an awful plastic bag and the 3 fellows carried us to their home. Than everything became really painful for me. Something sharp pierced my shell and cut my main muscle so that I couldn’t keep my two shells together. My body was torn apart of my shell. I noticed with my non-existent eye a video camera(see video in “how to open oysters”). My power began to fade. I realized that one guy pushed my slack body in the mouth of another guy, that lied on the floor of a kitchen. Right now his gastric acid is destroying me and I’m happy I could tell you my life story before I disappear. Adieu. 

source of photo: http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Austern

One Response to “An oyster’s life story”

  1. Waiter, My Oyster is Green! | Santa Monica Seafood Blog Says:

    […] here’s a little bedtime story about one Fines de Claire oyster, but be warned, it doesn’t end well for the […]

Leave a Reply

